Best private dictation app for Mac in 2026
The most private dictation app for Mac in 2026 is the one that keeps processing on your device by default. Parlo and superwhisper both do that. Spokenly lets you choose a local model. Wispr Flow's privacy page states transcription always happens in the cloud, and Monologue's Mac app pairs a cloud default with local transcription as an option.
What does "private" mean for a Mac dictation app?
For this list, private means where your audio and transcript travel before they become text on screen. An app that processes on your device does not send audio to a server to get text back. An app that processes in the cloud does, even if it deletes the audio afterward. Some apps let you choose per session; others pick one path for you.
How do the main Mac options compare?
| App | Where processing happens | Mac hotkey | Export | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Parlo | On-device | Hold Option, speak, release | Markdown, with auto-export | Free during the beta |
| superwhisper | Both, on-device by default, cloud with your own key | Option plus space | not stated | Free tier; Pro $8.49 a month |
| Spokenly | Both, local models or cloud by choice | not stated | not stated | Local models free; Pro $99.99 a year, shown as $8.33 a month |
| Wispr Flow | Cloud, per its privacy page | not stated | not stated | Free; Pro $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually |
| Monologue (monologue.to) | Both, cloud by default, local transcription on Mac | not stated | not stated | Free trial; Pro $15 a month, or $144 a year |
| Apple dictation | Both, depending on device and setting | not stated | not stated | Built in, no separate price |
Facts for superwhisper, Spokenly, Wispr Flow, and Monologue by Every come from each product's own site, checked 2026-09-06.
Why does the processing location matter more on Mac than the price does?
On Mac, these apps all insert text into whatever you were typing, per their own pages, though most do not name a specific hotkey. The real difference is what happens to your voice in between. Wispr Flow's own privacy page states transcription always happens in the cloud. superwhisper's home page states it works offline, with cloud models available if you supply your own API key. Spokenly's privacy page describes the same choice: local models keep processing on the device, and its cloud path sends audio to Spokenly's backend.
What does Parlo do differently on Mac?
Parlo for Mac lives in the menu bar. Hold Option, speak, and release to finish; a double-tap locks it hands-free. Recording and transcription happen on your Mac using Apple's speech engine. "Use AI cleanup" is off by default on Mac, so turn it on in Settings if you want the on-device language model's pass at filler sounds and false starts; off, Parlo still strips filler sounds and applies the deterministic spoken commands. Text lands where your cursor was, after Parlo confirms the target app is frontmost. If that check fails, the text stays on your clipboard instead of landing in the wrong place. Your notes collect in a searchable Notes window, and you can export them as Markdown into a folder you choose, such as an Obsidian vault. Parlo is a beta and English-first.
Does an account requirement affect how private an app feels?
It changes what has to exist somewhere other than your Mac before you can dictate. Monologue requires an account on both its free trial and its Pro tier, per its pricing page. Spokenly needs no account for its free local-model tier, only for Pro. Wispr Flow and superwhisper did not state an account requirement plainly on the pages checked. Parlo has no account system at all: sync uses your Mac's existing system iCloud account rather than a separate Parlo account. On iPhone, Settings can delete your synced data from iCloud and sign you out; Mac has no separate account to sign out of.
What about the MCP server and other Mac-only extras?
Parlo for Mac also runs an MCP server over stdio, with tools to search, get, and list your dictations; the search is keyword only, so every word in your search has to appear in the note. Settings installs it into Claude Desktop with one click, or gives you a copyable command for Claude Code. Wispr Flow's pricing page lists MCP integration for its meeting notes, on every tier: "Use your meeting notes in Claude, ChatGPT, and other AI tools." The other pages checked for this comparison did not name an equivalent feature. Parlo's MCP server, like Markdown export, is Mac only. It is not available from the iPhone app or the keyboard.
Does language support matter for a Mac dictation app?
If you dictate in more than one language, yes. Wispr Flow, superwhisper, Spokenly, and Monologue by Every all state support for 100 or more languages, with automatic detection in several cases. Parlo is English-first, and transcription falls back to en-US when a requested locale is unavailable. There is no language picker, so a non-English workflow is better served today by one of the other options in this list.
How should you choose between them?
- Decide whether cloud processing is acceptable for the kind of speech you dictate.
- Check whether the app names a specific hotkey, since some pages leave this unstated.
- Compare price against how often you would actually use it day to day.
- Try the on-device option first if privacy is your main reason for switching away from a cloud tool.
What does this comparison not tell you?
Every claim here about superwhisper, Spokenly, Wispr Flow, and Monologue comes from their own public pages, checked on 2026-09-06, not from running each app side by side on the same Mac. A privacy page states where a company says processing happens; it does not measure latency, battery use, or how a hotkey feels once you have used it for a week. If you already run one of these apps daily, your own experience with it is more current than a comparison built from marketing and pricing pages. Use this table to narrow down which two or three to actually install, not as a final verdict.
Which one should you pick?
If keeping your voice on your device is the deciding factor, Parlo and superwhisper both default to on-device processing, and Spokenly lets you pick a local model. If you want a wide language list with automatic detection between languages, Wispr Flow, superwhisper, Spokenly, and Monologue all state 100 or more languages, while Parlo is English-first during the beta. If you already export notes into Markdown or a vault tool such as Obsidian, Parlo's Mac export was the only one of these apps to name that feature on its own site as of the date checked.
Frequently asked questions
Which Mac dictation apps process speech on the device by default?
Parlo always does. superwhisper's home page states it works offline, with cloud models as an option using your own key.
Does Wispr Flow process speech on the Mac itself?
No. Its privacy page states transcription always happens in the cloud, regardless of platform.
Do any of these apps use a hold-key hotkey on Mac?
Parlo uses hold Option, speak, release. superwhisper's home page describes option plus space. The others did not name a specific hotkey on their sites.
Which apps export to Markdown or a notes app?
Parlo exports Markdown on Mac, including an auto-export into a folder such as an Obsidian vault. None of the competitor pages checked named an export feature.
Is Parlo for Mac free?
Yes, during the beta. There is no account and no subscription. Download the notarized build from the beta page.