Dictation software for Mac: the complete guide
Dictation software for Mac ranges from the dictation built into every Mac to hotkey apps that paste text at your cursor and tools bound to one editor. This guide compares Apple's dictation, Parlo, superwhisper, Spokenly, Wispr Flow, and Monologue on processing location, price, hotkeys, and export, then covers permissions, accuracy, and cost.
Every Mac already has a way to turn speech into text, and a handful of separate apps add their own. Deciding between them means knowing what each kind actually does, not just what it is called. This guide walks through the categories, compares the main Mac options on the facts that matter, and answers the objections a careful buyer would raise before installing anything.
What to look for in dictation software for Mac
Dictation software for Mac falls into three rough shapes. The first is Apple's own dictation, built into macOS and turned on from Keyboard settings, with no install and no separate app. The second is a hotkey app: you hold a key, speak, and the app pastes text into whatever you were doing, at your cursor, without opening a window first. Parlo and superwhisper both work this way. The third is a window-bound tool. It has its own recording view that you dictate into, and you copy the result out afterward, closer to a notes app than a keyboard replacement.
Editor-bound tools are common in browser extensions built for a single site, such as Google Docs. They work well inside that one editor and stop working the moment you switch to Mail, Slack, or a terminal. A hotkey app avoids that limit because it does not care which app has focus. That distinction matters most if you dictate across several apps in one sitting rather than staying inside one document.
Before picking one, check five things. Where does it process your speech, on the device or on a server. What does it cost, and is there a free tier that actually covers daily use. Does it keep a history of what you dictated, and can you search it. Does it export anywhere, such as Markdown into a notes app. And does it use a hotkey you can trigger from any app, or does it need its own window open first. A search for voice to text on a Mac turns up all three shapes mixed together, so these five questions are the fastest way to sort them.
How the Mac dictation options compare
The table below covers six options: Apple's built-in dictation and five separate apps. Facts about Parlo come from the Parlo app repository. Facts about the other apps come from each product's own site, checked on 2026-09-08.
| App | Platforms | Where processing happens | Mac hotkey | Price | Custom dictionary | Export |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple dictation | iPhone, iPad, Mac | Both, depending on device, language, and setting | Yes, a shortcut you set in Keyboard settings, or the Microphone key | Built in, no separate price | not stated | not stated |
| Parlo | iPhone, Mac | On-device | Hold Option, speak, release, with a custom shortcut option | Free during the beta | Yes, edited on iPhone; entries sync with your other devices | Markdown, with auto-export, Mac only |
| superwhisper | Mac, Windows, iPhone, iPad | Both, on-device by default, cloud with your own key | Option plus space | Free tier; Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once | Yes | not stated |
| Spokenly | Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone | Both, local models on the device or cloud models sent to Spokenly | not stated | Local models free; Pro shown at $8.33 a month, or $99.99 a year | Yes | not stated |
| Monologue | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch | Both, cloud by default, local transcription on Mac as an option | not stated | Free trial; Pro $15 a month, or $144 a year | Yes | not stated |
| Wispr Flow | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | Cloud, per its privacy page | not stated | Free; Pro $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually | Yes | not stated |
Of the four competitor sites checked here, only superwhisper names a Mac hotkey, and none of the four state an export feature. Where a cell says "not stated," the product's own site did not answer that question on the pages fetched.
What does dictation for a MacBook Pro look like day to day?
A MacBook Pro away from a desk changes what matters most about dictation software. A hotkey app that works without a network connection keeps working on a flight or in a building with weak Wi-Fi. The speech engine and the cleanup pass both run on the laptop itself. A cloud-only tool needs a live connection every time you dictate, since the audio has to leave the machine before you get text back.
Battery use follows the same split. Sending audio to a server and waiting for a reply adds network activity on top of the recording itself. On-device processing on a MacBook Pro's own chip does the work locally and stops the moment you release the hotkey. Neither difference shows up on a pricing page, so it is worth testing during a free trial or beta rather than taking either vendor's word for it.
Voice to text on a MacBook also tends to move between apps more than a desktop session does. An email in Mail, a comment in Slack, notes in a single document later. A hotkey app that inserts wherever your cursor already is fits that pattern better than a separate recording window you have to copy text out of each time.
Is Mac dictation software accurate enough compared with cloud tools?
It depends on the engine and what runs after it, not on where the app's marketing lives. Parlo transcribes with Apple's on-device speech engine, the same family of engine behind newer versions of Apple's own system dictation. For how that engine compares with the Whisper model family, see Whisper versus Apple speech on device. It then passes the result through an on-device language model that removes filler sounds, false starts, and repeated words. That second pass also understands spoken commands such as saying "new paragraph" out loud, and those deterministic commands work whether the cleanup toggle is on or off. A custom dictionary teaches the keyboard your names and terms so autocorrect stops fighting you. Parlo is a beta and English-first, so expect rough edges and send feedback when you find one.
"Filler sounds" and "false starts" cover the small habits that make raw transcripts hard to read. They are the "um" before a sentence, the half-sentence you abandon and restart, and a word you repeat while you think of the next one. Removing those three things is a smaller job than rewriting your meaning. That is why a length guard rejects any cleanup pass that comes back noticeably longer than what you actually said, falling back to the plainer, deterministic version instead.
Why not just use Apple's built-in dictation on Mac?
Apple's dictation does one job well: it types what you say into whatever field has focus, with no separate download. What it does not do is keep a searchable history of your dictations or clean up filler words for you. A dedicated app like Parlo adds cleanup, a saved record you can search later, and a custom dictionary that keeps the iPhone keyboard's autocorrect off your names and terms. Whether that trade is worth a separate install depends on how often you dictate and whether you want the history to persist past the moment you typed it.
Take a simple case: a project name or a person's surname you type often on iPhone. The keyboard's autocorrect keeps changing it. Add it to the custom dictionary once in Parlo's Settings on iPhone and the keyboard's autocorrect leaves it alone from then on. The dictionary is a do-not-correct list for typed words; it does not change what the speech engine hears.
What permissions does dictation software need on a Mac?
A hotkey app needs two things macOS does not grant automatically: microphone access to record you, and Accessibility access to type or paste into other apps on your behalf. Parlo's first-run setup walks through both, plus the hotkey itself and whether Parlo opens automatically at login. A live check confirms Accessibility is actually granted rather than just requested. Once both are granted, Parlo puts the cleaned text on your clipboard. It then sends a paste command to the app you were using, after confirming that app is the one in front. If that check fails for any reason, the text stays on your clipboard instead of landing in the wrong window. Parlo tells you it copied the text rather than pasting it.
Accessibility access sounds broader than it is. macOS groups "control other apps" under that one permission. An app behind it might read your screen, or, like Parlo, only send a paste command after checking which app is in front. Reviewing what an app actually does with the permission matters more than the permission's name.
Is a beta version of Mac dictation software safe to rely on?
A beta label means rough edges are expected, not that the software is unfinished in every part. Dictation, cleanup, and the Mac hotkey work every day for Parlo's testers, and known rough spots are listed on the beta page rather than hidden. Your dictated notes are encrypted on the device they were recorded on. History sync is on by default once your Mac has an iCloud account, end-to-end encrypted, and travels through your own private iCloud rather than a server Parlo controls. Turn it off in Settings if you prefer local-only. A bad build does not expose what you said. Parlo for Mac checks once a day for a newer build and tells you when one is out. Feedback goes straight to a person, by replying to beta@parlokey.com. If dictation or pasting goes quiet after an update, the fix is usually a permission macOS silently dropped, not a broken feature. Check Accessibility in System Settings before assuming the worst.
What does dictation software cost on Mac?
Prices among the apps in the table above range from nothing to a monthly or annual subscription. Parlo costs nothing during the beta: no account to create, no subscription, and no purchase code anywhere in the app, on either iPhone or Mac. Nothing syncs unless your Mac is already signed into iCloud, and even then sync is a setting you can turn off. Without it, Parlo runs in a fully local mode with no account of any kind. The other apps in the comparison mix free tiers with word or note caps against paid plans that remove them. Check that against how much you actually dictate in a day before you commit to one. A weekly word cap that looks generous on a pricing page can run out fast once dictation becomes a daily habit rather than an occasional shortcut. Check the cap against a real week of use, not a single test sentence.
Where Parlo fits
Parlo transcribes with Apple's SpeechAnalyzer and SpeechTranscriber, on your device, as the only engine it ships. There is no cloud transcription option and nothing to configure with an API key.
"Use AI cleanup" defaults to off on Mac, unlike on iPhone where it defaults on. Turn it on in Settings for the full language-model pass at filler sounds and false starts. Off, Parlo still strips filler sounds and applies the deterministic spoken commands on their own.
The Mac hotkey is a hold-Option press: hold, speak, release to finish, or double-tap to lock hands-free and double-tap again to stop. You can record a different shortcut in Settings if Option conflicts with something else.
After transcription, Parlo puts the text on your clipboard and sends a paste command to the app you were in, once it confirms that app is frontmost. A failed check leaves the text safely on your clipboard rather than risking the wrong window.
Markdown export is a Mac-only feature. Export All or an auto-export toggle write your notes into a folder you choose, such as an Obsidian vault. Filenames are deterministic, so exporting the same note twice overwrites rather than duplicating it.
An MCP server, also Mac only, runs over your dictation history: tools to search, get, and list past dictations by keyword. Settings installs it into Claude Desktop with one click, or gives you a command for Claude Code.
History search on Mac is semantic and on-device: the Notes window matches keywords first, then meaning, then recency, without sending anything to a server to do it.
The beta is free on both surfaces. iPhone installs through the public TestFlight link, and Mac installs from a notarized download on the beta page, with no purchase code in either app.
For the how-to steps behind the Mac hotkey, read the walkthrough on dictating on Mac with a hotkey. To weigh Parlo against superwhisper, the Parlo versus superwhisper comparison checks both on platforms, price, and history. For the ranked list across every private option covered here, see the best private dictation app for Mac in 2026. If you also want dictation that reaches apps outside a single hotkey press, read how to dictate into any app on Mac, which walks through both mechanisms side by side. Parlo for Mac covers the hotkey and Notes window in full.
Frequently asked questions
Does macOS come with its own dictation software?
Yes. Every Mac ships with a built-in dictation feature you turn on in Keyboard settings. Third-party dictation software adds things Apple's version does not, such as saved history, export, or a hold-key hotkey that works the same way in every app.
What's the best dictation software for a MacBook Pro?
It depends on what you value most, such as processing location, price, or export. The 2026 roundup ranks the private options for Mac side by side, including MacBook Pro and MacBook Air.
Does voice to text on Mac need an internet connection?
Parlo does not, once the one-time download of Apple's on-device speech model has finished. Apple's dictation depends on your device, language, and a setting. Keyboard settings tells you whether it processes on the device or sends audio to Apple's servers.
Can I use Parlo as voice to text on a MacBook without an account?
Yes. There is no Parlo account. Once your Mac is signed into iCloud, history sync is on by default and end-to-end encrypted; turn it off in Settings if you prefer. Signed out of iCloud, Parlo runs in a fully local-only mode.
Does dictation software on Mac insert text into any app I'm using?
The hotkey apps in this guide paste into whatever app is in front of you, at your cursor. Apple's dictation works the same way, from any text field, once you start it.
Is Parlo for Mac free during the beta?
Yes. There is no subscription and no purchase code anywhere in the app. Download Parlo for Mac from the beta page and install Parlo for iPhone from the public TestFlight link.
Can I search my past Mac dictations later?
With Parlo, yes. The Notes window keeps a searchable, on-device record of what you dictated, with the same editing and transforms as the iPhone app.
What happens if dictation software can't paste into the app I'm using?
With Parlo, the text stays on your clipboard instead of landing somewhere wrong, and Parlo tells you it copied the text instead of pasting it.