Best dictation apps in 2026, by platform
The best dictation app in 2026 depends on your platform, since no single app wins on iPhone, Mac, and price at once. Parlo processes speech and cleanup on your device on both, free during its beta. Wispr Flow is cloud only; superwhisper, Spokenly, and Monologue each place processing differently. This guide compares them and links to platform picks.
What makes a dictation app the best in 2026?
"Best" splits into three separate questions: where your speech gets processed, what platform you carry, and what happens to the text after it lands. An app can transcribe well and still fail you. It can ship your audio to a server you did not choose, lock your history behind a subscription, or only run on the one device you happen to own.
Start with processing location. Some apps transcribe on your device, with no network round trip once the recognition model is downloaded. Others send your audio to a cloud service for speed, then apply a privacy policy to decide what happens to it afterward. A few offer both and let you pick.
Next, look at platform. An iPhone keyboard extension is a different product from a menu-bar hotkey on Mac, and a browser-only tool is a third thing again. Few vendors ship a genuine keyboard and a genuine hotkey from one account, so check both if you use both devices.
Then look past the demo. Does the app keep a searchable history, or does each dictation disappear once you close the window? Can you export your notes, or are they locked inside the vendor's own app? Does it need an account and a subscription, or can you try it free?
This guide compares the honest, source-checked answers to those questions across five current products, then hands you to two deeper, platform-only rankings for iPhone and for Mac.
The best dictation app in 2026, by platform
No single product wins on every axis. The table below lines up the current field by platform, processing location, account, and price. It also covers the details that tend to decide it in practice: history, export, and language support. Every cell comes from each vendor's own site, checked against those pages on 2026-09-08, or from Parlo's app repository.
| Platforms | Where processing happens | Account required | Price | Free tier | Dictation history | Export | iPhone keyboard | Mac hotkey | Custom dictionary | Languages |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone and Mac (Parlo) | On-device | No | Free during the beta | Not applicable, the beta is free | Yes, encrypted on the device; iCloud sync end-to-end encrypted, on by default, off in Settings | Mac only, as Markdown | Yes | Yes, hold Option | Yes, feeds keyboard autocorrect only | English (beta) |
| iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple dictation) | On-device or Apple's servers, depending on device and setting | Not stated | Built in, no separate price | Not applicable, one built-in version | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes, a shortcut or the microphone key | Not stated | Not stated as a list |
| Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android (Wispr Flow) | Cloud only | Not stated | Free; Pro $15 a month, $12 a month billed annually | Yes, word capped by platform | Yes, opt-in cloud storage | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 100 plus |
| Mac, Windows, iOS, iPad (superwhisper) | On-device by default, cloud optional with your own key | Not stated | Free tier; Pro $8.49 a month or $84.99 a year | Yes, basic transcription | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, Option plus space | Yes | 100 plus |
| Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone (Spokenly) | On-device local models, or cloud | No for local models, yes for Pro | Local models free; Pro $8.33 a month shown rate, or $99.99 a year | Yes, unlimited local model use | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | Yes | 100 plus |
| Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch (Monologue) | Cloud by default, local transcription on Mac | Not stated for the free trial | Free trial; Pro $15 a month or $144 a year | Yes, word and note capped | Capped recorded notes on the free trial | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | 100 plus |
Read the table by what you need first. If on-device processing with no account is the one requirement, Parlo and Spokenly's local models both promise that. Spokenly's promise covers its offline mode only, since its cloud mode sends audio to its own backend. If you need a mature, multi-platform tool and cloud processing does not bother you, Wispr Flow runs on Mac, Windows, iPhone, and Android and adds features like meeting notes. If you want a hotkey that works without opening a window, superwhisper and Parlo both ship one on Mac. Apple's own dictation ships a shortcut too, on every Mac already.
Is an on-device app accurate enough compared with cloud dictation?
On-device speech recognition used to trail a cloud model on accuracy. That gap has narrowed for English on recent hardware, which is what several of these apps lean on when they choose on-device processing. superwhisper defaults to local models, Spokenly offers them alongside cloud ones, and both let you add a cloud key for another engine if you want one. Wispr Flow does not offer a local option at all: its own privacy page states that transcription always happens in the cloud, trading your audio for that model's speed.
Accuracy on paper does not settle the question either, since none of these vendors publish a benchmark you can compare across products. What decides it day to day is closer to your voice, your accent, background noise, and how much a cleanup pass fixes after transcription finishes. A custom dictionary that keeps your own names and terms from being autocorrected as you type often matters more than a fraction of a percentage point of raw accuracy would. Every app named here is worth a short trial with your own vocabulary before you commit to one, especially a beta like Parlo's.
Why not just use Apple's built-in dictation?
Apple's dictation already ships on every iPhone and Mac, and Apple documents how to turn it on and set a shortcut in its own support guide. For plenty of people it is the fastest path from speech to text, since there is nothing to install and no app to open first.
What a dedicated app tends to add on top is cleanup, history, and reach. Apple's dictation types close to what you said and stops there. A dedicated app can add a cleanup pass that removes filler words and false starts, and a searchable record of what you dictated. Parlo does both; check each vendor's own site for what it keeps. Some add a hotkey or a keyboard extension, so the same shortcut works everywhere rather than only inside the system keyboard. Whether a second app earns its place depends on how often you dictate and how often you lose track of something you said last week.
What's the best free dictation app for iPhone?
On iPhone, "free" splits into a free tier with limits and a free product with none. Wispr Flow's free tier caps dictation at 1,000 words a week on iPhone. Monologue's free trial caps both words and saved notes. Spokenly states no usage limit on its local models, and its iPhone app ships its own keyboard extension.
Parlo's iPhone app and keyboard are free for the length of its beta, with no account and no word cap. The honest tradeoff is that it is a beta. Expect rough edges. Processing also runs only on the device, so it never reaches for a cloud model when the on-device one struggles with an unusual accent or a noisy room. For a full, ranked walk through every iPhone-specific detail, down to exactly how the keyboard handoff works, the dedicated iPhone roundup covers it in one place.
What's the best dictation app for Mac?
On Mac the split runs between a hotkey app that pastes into whatever you were doing and a window-bound app you have to switch over to first. superwhisper and Parlo both use a hold-and-release hotkey; Apple's dictation uses a shortcut or the microphone key set from Keyboard settings. Wispr Flow and Monologue were not stated to ship a Mac hotkey on their own sites, so check before you assume one exists.
Parlo for Mac holds Option, transcribes and cleans the text on your device, then pastes it at your cursor in the app you were already using. A searchable Notes window collects your dictation history, and you can export it as Markdown into a folder such as an Obsidian vault. The fuller Mac comparison, with every vendor's processing model and price side by side, lives in the dedicated Mac roundup.
What's the best dictation software for lawyers and doctors?
Client privilege and patient records raise the bar past what a single paragraph in a general guide can responsibly answer. The short version is to look for on-device processing, so a transcript does not have to leave the device to be produced. Then ask any vendor directly what they store, for how long, and under what agreement.
Parlo has not been HIPAA certified. No government body certifies an app under HIPAA; vendors sign agreements instead. Wispr Flow's home page states SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, and ISO 27001 as security claims, which is that vendor's own statement rather than a government certificate. Ask any vendor what a certification covers and what agreement they will sign. What each does publish is where processing happens and how history gets stored, which are the facts a lawyer or a clinician actually needs in order to evaluate a tool. The dedicated lawyer and clinician guides work through those questions in full, with the specific settings worth checking on each platform.
What does it cost?
Pricing across this field runs from built in and free, Apple's dictation, to a metered monthly subscription. Wispr Flow's Pro tier runs $15 a month billed monthly, or $12 a month billed annually, with a higher Growth tier for teams. superwhisper's Pro tier runs $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or a one-time $249.99 for a lifetime license. Spokenly shows $8.33 a month for Pro, or $99.99 a year, or lets you use its local models free with no account. Monologue's Pro tier runs $15 a month or $144 a year.
Parlo costs nothing during its beta, on iPhone and on Mac, with no account needed to start. Sync, if you want it, uses your own iCloud rather than a Parlo account or server. A free beta is not a permanent price, and this guide does not promise what pricing looks like once the beta ends. It states plainly what today costs: nothing.
Is a beta safe to rely on?
Parlo is a beta, and that word means something specific here. Dictation, cleanup, the keyboard, and the Mac hotkey work every day for our testers. Rough edges are still expected, and they are listed openly on the beta page rather than hidden from you. Your notes are encrypted on the device, and if history sync is on, in your private iCloud too, so a bad build does not expose them to anyone else.
If you need a tool that is out of beta today, the other four vendors here sell paid tiers at the prices listed above. On-device processing and no account may matter more to you than that. If so, try the beta without commitment: install it, dictate for a week, and see whether it earns a permanent place on your phone or your Mac.
Where Parlo fits
Transcription runs on your device with Apple's SpeechAnalyzer and SpeechTranscriber, the same on-device engine behind the newest system dictation. It is the only engine Parlo uses. There is no cloud fallback and no key to bring your own.
Cleanup also runs on your device, with Apple's FoundationModels. It strips filler sounds, false starts, and repeated words. A length guard catches cleanup output that runs implausibly longer than what you actually said and falls back to the plainer, deterministic text instead.
History sync is end-to-end encrypted through your private iCloud, and it is on by default rather than a setting you have to find and flip yourself. Apple and Parlo never hold the plaintext or the encryption key that protects it.
There is no Parlo account and no server of ours holding your content. Sign in with Apple, on iPhone, is an optional way to key sync to your iCloud identity. Signed out, Parlo runs as a fully local app instead.
On iPhone, you tap the mic inside the Parlo keyboard, the app opens and records, and you swipe back to the field you left. The keyboard inserts the finished text once, only into that field, and the result expires if you wait too long before swiping back.
On Mac, hold the Option key anywhere, speak, and release when you are done. Double-tap Option to lock the recording hands-free and double-tap again to stop it, or record a custom shortcut in Settings if Option already does something else on your Mac.
Parlo is English-first. Transcription falls back to US English whenever a requested locale is not available. There is no language picker yet, so if your work is not mostly in English, this beta is not ready for you yet.
The beta is free on both platforms, with no purchase or subscription code in either app. Install Parlo for iPhone through the public TestFlight link, and Parlo for Mac as a notarized download, both from the beta page.
Frequently asked questions
Does Parlo count among the best dictation apps in 2026?
It is a strong on-device pick for iPhone and Mac, especially if privacy and a free beta matter to you. It is English only and still a beta.
Is the best dictation app for iPhone also the best one on Mac?
Not always. Parlo and Apple's dictation are the two here that ship both an iPhone keyboard and a Mac hotkey. superwhisper's hotkey is Mac first, and Spokenly's keyboard is iPhone first. If you carry both devices, weigh the pair together rather than picking each platform's winner alone.
Does the Parlo keyboard record audio on iPhone?
No. iOS does not allow a keyboard extension to use the microphone. Parlo records and transcribes in the app, then hands the finished text back to the keyboard through a shared App Group.
How do I dictate on Mac with Parlo?
Hold the Option key anywhere on your Mac, speak, and release. Parlo transcribes and cleans the text on your device, then pastes it at your cursor in the app you were using.
Is there an app that takes dictation offline on iPhone and Mac?
Parlo and Spokenly's local models process speech on the device once the model is downloaded, so a live connection is not needed to dictate. Apple's dictation and Wispr Flow lean on a server connection more, by design.
Does my dictation history sync between iPhone and Mac?
Yes, once you are signed in with an iCloud identity. History sync is end-to-end encrypted through your private iCloud, on by default, and you can turn it off in Settings on either platform.
Will Parlo support languages other than English?
Not yet. Parlo is English-first, and transcription falls back to US English when a requested locale is unavailable. There is no language picker in the current beta.
What's the best dictation software if price matters most?
Apple's dictation is built in at no extra cost. Spokenly's local models are free with no account. Wispr Flow's free tier caps iPhone use at 1,000 words a week, and Monologue's free trial caps words and notes. Parlo is free during its beta with no cap.