Is there an app that takes dictation? How to pick one
Is there an app that takes dictation? Yes. Every iPhone and Mac ships with one built in, and dedicated apps add cleanup, searchable history, and a keyboard or hotkey on top. This guide sorts the built-in option from the keyboard apps and the hotkey apps, then compares Parlo, an on-device pick, against the rest.
Is there an app that takes dictation?
Yes, and the first one is already on your device. Every iPhone and every Mac ships with a dictation feature built in, free, with no download. Tap the microphone key on the iPhone keyboard, or press the dictation shortcut on Mac, and your words become text. That built-in option is the floor, not the whole answer.
On top of it sits a second category: dedicated dictation apps. Some replace the iPhone keyboard so dictation works in any text field. Some sit in the Mac menu bar behind a hotkey and paste into whatever app is in front. Most of them add something the built-in option skips. Cleanup removes filler words, a searchable history keeps a record of everything you have said, and some add spoken formatting commands or export to a notes app. Wispr Flow, superwhisper, Spokenly, Monologue by Every, and Parlo are five of the apps in this second category. Each one draws the line between built in and dedicated a little differently.
The rest of this guide sorts the built-in feature from the keyboard apps and the hotkey apps. It gives you a short list of questions to ask before you install anything. Then it compares the main options in one table and answers the objections people usually raise before committing to a dedicated app.
Most people who ask this question already know Apple's dictation exists. What they actually want to know is whether something better fits how they work. A writer wants a searchable record of every note. A founder wants text that lands in whatever app is open, without switching windows. A clinician or a lawyer wants to know exactly where the audio goes before they say anything about a client or a patient. Those three needs map to three different answers below. None of them changes the fact that a free built-in option is already on the device.
Those needs sort by category more than by brand. A writer's search for a record points to a dedicated app with history, on any platform. A founder who wants text landing wherever they are typing points to a keyboard extension or a hotkey app. A clinician or a lawyer should filter by where the audio goes first, then weigh the rest.
The three shapes a dictation app takes
Almost every voice typing app on the market fits one of three shapes.
System dictation. Apple builds a dictation feature into the iPhone and Mac keyboards. You tap a microphone icon or press a shortcut, speak, and the words appear where your cursor sits. It costs nothing, needs no install, and works in any app with a text field, but it stops at typing what you said. It keeps no searchable record of your past dictations and applies no cleanup pass.
A keyboard extension. Some apps, including Parlo and Spokenly, install as a replacement keyboard on iPhone. You switch to it the way you would switch to any third-party keyboard, then dictate from inside it. On iOS, a keyboard extension is never allowed to use the microphone directly. These apps route the actual recording through a companion app and hand back the finished text once it is ready.
A hotkey or menu-bar app. On Mac, apps like superwhisper and Parlo for Mac sit in the menu bar. They listen for a shortcut, most often holding down a key like Option. Hold it, speak, and release, and the app pastes text at your cursor in whichever app was in front. Nothing needs to be a keyboard extension, because macOS does not gate the microphone the way iOS does for keyboards.
A handful of tools blur these lines, most often a notes app with its own dictate button that you then copy text out of. That fourth shape exists, but it usually means an extra copy and paste step the first three shapes skip. Google Docs voice typing and a phone's built-in notes app both work this way. Dictate inside the app, then move the text somewhere else by hand. It is fine for one note and awkward for dictation you do every day.
Four questions before you pick one
Before comparing apps by name, answer four questions about how you actually work. None of the four has a universally right answer; they only surface what matters for your own routine.
- Which device matters most? An iPhone keyboard app and a Mac hotkey app solve different problems, and not every dictation app covers both.
- Do you want the text cleaned up, or exactly what you said? Filler words, false starts, and run-on sentences are common in raw dictation. A cleanup pass removes them; the built-in option leaves them in.
- Does where the processing happens matter to you? Some apps process audio on your device. Some send it to a server, and some let you choose. If privacy is a factor, this is the single fact to check first.
- Do you need it in every app, or just one? A keyboard extension or a system-wide hotkey works everywhere you type. A dictation feature bolted onto a single notes app only works there.
These four questions also sort the platform question. If you searched for a voice typing app for laptop, the platform decides more than the feature list. On a MacBook, Apple's dictation is already installed. A hotkey app like Parlo for Mac or superwhisper adds a shortcut and cleanup on top of it. If you searched for a voice typing app for pc, Parlo is not an option; it runs on iPhone and Mac only. Wispr Flow and superwhisper both name Windows among their supported platforms, so a Windows laptop is better served starting there.
How the built-in option and dedicated apps compare
The table below lines up the built-in option against five dedicated apps. It compares five facts: platforms, whether it ships an iPhone keyboard, where it processes your audio, whether it needs an account, and what its free tier includes.
| Product | Platforms | iPhone keyboard | Where processing happens | Account required | Free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple dictation | iPhone, iPad, Mac | Yes | On-device or sent to Apple servers, depending on device, language, and setting | Not stated | Not applicable, built in |
| Parlo | iPhone, Mac | Yes | On-device only | No | Free during the beta |
| Spokenly | Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone | Yes | On-device for local models, sent to their servers for cloud models | No for the free local tier, yes for the paid tier | Yes, unlimited use of the local models |
| superwhisper | Mac, Windows, iOS, iPad | Not stated on their site | On-device by default, cloud optional with your own API key | Not stated | Yes, basic transcription and limited cloud models |
| Monologue | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch | Not stated on their site | Sent to their servers by default, on-device transcription available on Mac | Not stated for the free trial | Yes, with a word and note cap |
| Wispr Flow | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | Not stated on their site | Sent to their servers, per their own privacy page | Not stated | Yes, with a word cap by platform |
Every row above comes from each product's own site, checked the day this guide was written. Where a company's site does not state a fact, the table says so rather than guessing.
Two patterns stand out in that table. Every dedicated app other than Parlo names a cloud step somewhere in how it processes audio. Only Parlo and Spokenly confirm no account requirement for their free tier. Those two facts, more than any single feature, separate a private pick from a convenient one.
What a dedicated app adds beyond Apple's dictation
Apple's dictation types exactly what you say, and for a quick text message that is often all you need. A dedicated app earns its place when you want more than a transcript. Parlo cleans up filler sounds and false starts on your device. It keeps a searchable history of every dictation you have made, and on Mac it inserts into any app from a hold-Option hotkey instead of a separate window. History sync is on by default, protected end to end through your own private iCloud, and Settings lets you turn it off whenever you like.
The gap shows up most once you dictate the same kind of message often. Apple's dictation has no memory of your last note and no way to search back through what you said last week. Parlo adds a list of your own names and terms that its keyboard will not autocorrect. A dedicated app treats each dictation as a record worth keeping, not a one-time transcript you copy out and discard. That is the trade you are weighing: a built-in feature that needs nothing extra, against a dedicated app that asks for a one-time setup. In exchange, you get history, cleanup, and a dictionary you fill in with your own names and terms.
What Full Access lets a keyboard app do
If you try a keyboard extension on iPhone, including Parlo's, it asks for Full Access during setup. Full Access is the permission Apple requires before a keyboard extension can share data with its companion app. Parlo uses it for exactly that: passing your dictated text from the Parlo app back to the keyboard through a container the two share. The keyboard itself cannot record audio at all, because iOS does not allow a keyboard extension to touch the microphone. It also never links to Parlo's iCloud sync code. Turning on Full Access does not hand the keyboard any access to your synced history.
This is worth understanding on any keyboard app, not only Parlo's. Full Access is Apple's permission, defined the same way for every custom keyboard on the App Store. In general it is a broad grant: it lets a keyboard extension talk to the network and its own companion app. A keyboard that does not request it stays sandboxed and cannot do either. What each app does with that grant is a separate question, worth asking of every keyboard you install. Parlo's answer is the narrow one above: handing dictated text back and nothing more. A reader comparing keyboard apps should ask what Full Access lets each specific app do, not just what Apple allows in general.
What a dictation app costs beyond the built-in option
Nothing, for now. Parlo is free during its public beta on both iPhone and Mac, with no account to create and no subscription to start. Get the iPhone app through the public TestFlight link, and get Parlo for Mac as a notarized download from the beta page. History sync, on by default once you sign in, rides your own iCloud account, not a Parlo one.
Is it accurate enough compared with cloud dictation?
Parlo transcribes with the same on-device speech engine behind the newest system dictation on iPhone and Mac. A second, on-device pass then strips filler sounds and repeated words, and applies spoken commands such as saying new paragraph out loud. A custom dictionary holds names and terms you add, so autocorrect on the keyboard stops fighting you over your own vocabulary. Parlo is English-first and still in beta, so expect some rough edges, and tell the team about any you hit. None of this claims perfect accuracy. It claims a private path: recognition and cleanup that run on your device, checked against what you actually said.
Where Parlo fits
Transcription runs through Apple's SpeechAnalyzer and SpeechTranscriber, entirely on your device. It is the only engine Parlo uses; there is no cloud fallback and no key to bring for a different provider.
Cleanup runs on your device too, through Apple's FoundationModels. It trims filler sounds, false starts, and repeated words. A length guard rejects a cleanup pass that comes back implausibly longer than what you said, then falls back to the plain transcript instead.
The Parlo keyboard cannot record audio, because iOS does not permit that for any keyboard extension. Recording and transcription happen in the Parlo app, which hands the finished text to the keyboard through a shared container that never touches iCloud.
On iPhone, you tap the microphone in the Parlo keyboard, dictate in the app that opens, then swipe back to the field you left. The keyboard inserts the text once you are back, and the result expires after 30 seconds so it never lands somewhere else by accident.
On Mac, you hold the Option key anywhere, speak, and release. Double-tap Option instead if you want it to keep listening hands-free, then double-tap again to stop. You can also record your own shortcut in Settings if Option does not suit your setup.
Parlo is English-first. Transcription falls back to en-US whenever the language it would otherwise use is not available, and there is no language picker yet.
The beta itself costs nothing. Both apps contain no purchase code and no subscription of any kind. iPhone installs through TestFlight, and Mac installs from a notarized download on the beta page.
Frequently asked questions
Is a voice typing app the same thing as a dictation app?
Yes. Both describe software that turns speech into text. Some are built into the phone or laptop, and some are separate apps you install for cleanup, history, or a hotkey.
What's a good voice typing app for laptop use?
On a MacBook, Apple's own dictation is built in and free, and Parlo adds a hold-Option hotkey, on-device cleanup, and a searchable history window.
Is there a voice typing app for pc that works like Parlo?
Not from Parlo. Parlo runs on iPhone and Mac only. Wispr Flow and superwhisper both list Windows among their platforms, so a Windows reader should start there.
What counts as a voice typing application, exactly?
Any software with a microphone input that outputs typed text, from a phone's system keyboard to a desktop hotkey app to a notes app with a dictate button.
Does the Parlo keyboard on iPhone record audio itself?
No. iOS does not allow a keyboard extension to use the microphone. Parlo's own app does the recording and transcription, then passes the finished text to the keyboard.
Do I need a dedicated app, or is the built-in option enough?
If you only need plain text with no history, the built-in option is enough. If you want cleanup, a searchable record, or a hotkey that works everywhere, a dedicated app adds that.
Is Parlo free to try?
Yes. Parlo is free during the public beta on iPhone and Mac. There is no account to create and no subscription.